Sorry - at this moment no translation is available!

iswan awards 20152015 International Seafarers' Welfare Awards Launched

The International Seafarers' Welfare Awards 2015 were launched on 10 November 2014. For seafarers, the backbone of the industry, welfare services and facilities can be a life line when working away from home for long periods of time.

These awards recognise excellence in the provision of welfare services by shipping companies, welfare organisations, ports and individuals - on ship and ashore. They showcase good practice in the industry, and highlight the commitment and dedication shown by many - in the service to seafarers.

With nominations now open, we encourage seafarers to recognise those that have shown them exceptional service this year. We urge seafarers to nominate for the award categories: Seafarers' Centre of the Year; Shipping Company of the Year; Port of the Year; and The Dr Dierk Lindemann Welfare Personality of the Year.

The winners of the 2014 International Seafarers' Welfare Awards were:

  • Shipping Company of the Year: Wallem Ship Management
  • Port of the Year: Port of Antwerp (Belgium)
  • Seafarer Centre of the Year: The Flying Angel, Fremantle (Australia)
  • The Dr Dierk Lindemann Welfare Personality of the Year: Fr Paul Noel (Durban, South Africa)
  • Judges' Special Award: Apinya Tajit (Sri Racha, Thailand)

Roger Harris, Executive Director, International Seafarers' Welfare and Assistance Network said "Seafarers make a massive contribution to all of our lives. Without them global trade would grind to a halt. They deserve to have excellent welfare services and facilities wherever they are in the world. These awards recognise the considerable efforts that organisations and individuals make to improve the lives of seafarers."

The International Seafarers' Welfare Awards 2015 will be held at the International Maritime Organisation in London on 9 June 2015 and will be presented by Mr Koji Sekimizu, Secretary General of the IMO. The awards are organised by the International Seafarers' Welfare and Assistance Network (ISWAN), and supported by the International Chamber of Shipping, International Transport Workers' Federation; International Christian Maritime Association; International Labour Organisation; the International Maritime Organisation.

Sponsors of the awards include Crewtoo, Wrist Ship Supply, and Garrets.

The awards are funded by a grant from the ITF Seafarers Trust.

Nominations close on 2 February 2015.


Your Contribution

With your donations help us to assist  seafarers from around the world in their difficulties and living conditions on board. Thank you for your contribution!


Unsere Bankverbindung

Deutsche Seemannsmission e.V.
IBAN: DE70 5206 0410 0006 4058 86
Evangelische Bank eG, Kiel

Bitte nennen Sie uns Ihre Adresse,
damit wir uns bei Ihnen bedanken
und Ihnen eine Spendenbescheinigung
zusenden können.

Hotline DSM-Care

dsm care logo
chat with chaplain
explore stations
dsm germany
dsm worldwide
Klick on the bottoms to be linked to the homepage of

Bündnis: United4Rescue

united4rescue logo
Zur Bündnis-Seite

Merkblätter der DSM
zum Corona-Virus

cover handlungsempfehlung cover merkblatt
Merkblatt Mund- und  Nasen-Bedeckung
hygienekonzept ergaenzung ffp2 wiederwendung
empfehlung Ergänzung
Wiederverwendung von FFP2 Masken für den Hausgebrauch
Zum Lesen / Dowload Abbildung anklicken


Kampagne: Fair übers Meer!

fair ueber meer 04

Zur Kampagnen-Seite
Our Sponsors:
ekd_logo2Evangelical Church
in Germany


Ass. of German Ship Owner
logo-headerSeafarers Trust AIS REALTIME DATA for Northern Ports